President’s Message September 2016

Dear PSCT Members,

I am honored to be serving as the President of PSCT for the 2016-2017 year. Last year was another well attended year with 52 active members. To keep the ball rolling, we are going to be having a membership incentive drawing at the October 10th meeting. If your membership for the 2016-2017 year is paid in full by September 30th, you will be eligible for the incentive drawing worth $89. The winner of the incentive drawing celebrating our 89th year does not need to be present. I would like to ask all our members to think about someone who might be new at work or outside the organization and take the time to invite them to a PSCT meeting. We always have room for new members!
Just a reminder, there is still time to sign up for the September 8th Golf Outing at Cedarbrook Golf Course. As you may know, the golf event is our main fundraiser for the Hiram P. Ball Memorial Scholarship. Our future scholarship winners really need you to go out there and chase your golf ball around awhile for this great event!
One of the PSCT key objectives is to promote scholarship to undergraduate students through the PSCT Scholarships. Please read the newsletter throughout the year to stay current with any updates regarding the requirements for the PSCT Scholarship. If you are interested in participating in the Scholarship Committee, please contact Tom Van Kuren at The only requirement for the Scholarship Committee is that you currently do not have a child applying this year.
I am happy to announce that we have several speaker commitments already for the upcoming year, but do have room for a couple more. Please consider sharing your expertise with us or providing us ideas for speakers and topics that you would find interesting. To start off the year, Josh Mathes of Kamin will be presenting at our September meeting on “Kaolin Products for Paint and Coatings”.
Also, I’d like to thank our new board members who have volunteered to support out 2015-2016 year. Those members are: Andy DePage (Director-at-Large); Christina Marlier (Past President); Mark DePasquale (Vice President-President Elect); Chris Gehly (Secretary); Dan Bickford (Treasurer); and Jim Wasik (ACA Liaison). A big thank you to our Membership Chair, Chris Gehly, and our Scholarship Committee Chair, Tom Van Kuren, for their continued support.
The first meeting this year is scheduled at Walnut Grill in Fox Chapel for September 12th. I look forward to seeing you there.

Kenneth Cutler
PSCT President 2016-2017

Speak Your Mind